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State Subsidy to County Detention Facilities 

 
State Authorization: North Carolina General Statutes 143B-820 State 

Subsidy to County Detention Facilities 
 

Department of Public Safety 
Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

 
Agency Contact Person - Program 

James Speight 
Director Juvenile Facility Operations 
919-324-6425 

Agency Contact Person - Financial 
Darlene Langston 
Acting Controller 
919-324-1106 

 
Brief Description of Program: 

 
I. PROGRAM OBJECTIVES 

In accordance to the North Carolina General Statutes 143B-820, State Subsidy to 
County Detention Facilities, the Section shall administer a State subsidy program to 
pay a county that provides juvenile detention services and meets State standards a 
certain per diem per juvenile. In general, this per diem should be fifty percent (50%) 
of the total cost of caring for a juvenile from within the county and one hundred 
percent (100%) of the total cost of caring for a juvenile from another county. Any 
county placing a juvenile in a detention facility in another county shall pay fifty 
percent (50%) of the total cost of caring for the juvenile to the Section. The four (4) 
counties that provide juvenile detention services are Durham, Guilford, Mecklenburg 
and Madison. 

 
II. PROGRAM PROCEDURES 

Juvenile Detention Subsidy Payment Requests from three of the four county- 
operated detention facilities are submitted to the Division of Juvenile 
Justice/Detention Services section by the 10th of each month. The requests are 
reviewed for any errors in the number of days a juvenile was detained and the county 
responsible for the bill. The Durham County- and Guilford County-operated facilities 
are paid at the rate of $122.00 per day, for their own juveniles; the Mecklenburg 
County-operated facility is paid at the rate of $153.38 per day, for its own juveniles. 
Juveniles from other counties are charged at the rate of $244.00 per day per 
juvenile, with the appropriate county billed for one half the costs. The Madison 
County-operated facility is paid at the rate of $244 per day per bed, for a minimum 
total of 15 beds per day; where applicable, the appropriate county is billed for one 
half the costs. 

 
 

Organizations Funded: [ ] Private [ X ] Local Government [ ] Both 

Source of Funds: [ X ] State [ ] Federal  
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III. COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS 
1. Activities Allowed or Unallowed 

N/A 
2. Allowable Costs/Cost Principles 

N/A 
3. Cash 

Management N/A 
4. Conflict of Interest 

N/A 
5. Eligibility 

N/A 
6. Equipment and Real Property Management 

N/A 
7. Matching, Level of Effort, Earmarking 

N/A 
8. Period of Availability of Federal Funds 

N/A 
9. Procurement and Suspension and 

Debarment N/A 
10. Program Income 

N/A 
11. Real Property Acquisition and Relocation Assistance 

N/A 
12. Reporting 

N/A 
13. Sub-Recipient Monitoring 

NC-JOIN is a program/system and is the sub-recipient monitoring tool used to 
enter juveniles as they enter DPS Juvenile Detention Centers, Youth 
Development Centers, or any other applicable treatment program. Admissions 
and releases, as well as other vital information concerning juveniles, are entered 
into NC-JOIN. This enables those individuals authorized to use the program 
access to any information that is vital to the placement of a juvenile. 

14. Special Tests and Provisions: 
a) Verify that checks received from DPS are for actual resident days [Durham, 

Guilford, Mecklenburg Counties], or meet the terms of the Memo of Agreement 
[Madison County]. 

b) Does the amount of check received balance to the amount invoiced? 
c) Test actual data from NC-JOIN to the facility data (verify names and dates), 

and from NCALLIES to the Madison County Memo of Agreement. 
d) Verify the amount billed reconciles to the approved rate for the facility. 
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