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State Subsidy to County Detention Facilities 

 
State Authorization: North Carolina General Statutes 143B-820 State 

Subsidy to County Detention Facilities 

 

Department of Public Safety 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

 

Agency Contact Person - Program 

James Speight 

Director Juvenile Facility Operations 

919-324-6425 

Agency Contact Person - Financial 

Darlene Langston 

Acting Controller 

919-324-1106 

 
Brief Description of Program: 

 

I. PROGRAM OBJECTIVES 

In accordance to the North Carolina General Statutes 143B-820, State Subsidy to 

County Detention Facilities, the Section shall administer a State subsidy program to 

pay a county that provides juvenile detention services and meets State standards a 

certain per diem per juvenile. In general, this per diem should be fifty percent (50%) of 

the total cost of caring for a juvenile from within the county and one hundred percent 

(100%) of the total cost of caring for a juvenile from another county. Any county placing 

a juvenile in a detention facility in another county shall pay fifty percent (50%) of the 

total cost of caring for the juvenile to the Section. The four (4) counties that provide 

juvenile detention services are Durham, Guilford, Mecklenburg and Madison. 

 

II. PROGRAM PROCEDURES 

Juvenile Detention Subsidy Payment Requests from three of the four county- operated 

detention facilities are submitted to the Division of Juvenile Justice/Detention Services 

section by the 10th of each month. The requests are reviewed for any errors in the 

number of days a juvenile was detained and the county responsible for the bill. The 

Durham County- and Guilford County-operated facilities are paid at the rate of $122.00 

per day, for their own juveniles; the Mecklenburg County-operated facility is paid at the 

rate of $153.38 per day, for its own juveniles. Juveniles from other counties are 

charged at the rate of $244.00 per day per juvenile, with the appropriate county billed 

for one half the costs. The Madison County-operated facility is paid at the rate of $244 

per day per bed, for a minimum total of 15 beds per day; where applicable, the 

appropriate county is billed for one half the costs. 

 

 
Organizations Funded: [ ] Private [ X ] Local Government [ ] Both 

Source of Funds: [ X ] State [ ] Federal  
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III. COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS 

1. Activities Allowed or Unallowed 

N/A 

2. Allowable Costs/Cost Principles 

N/A 

3. Cash 

Management N/A 

4. Conflict of Interest 

N/A 

5. Eligibility 

N/A 

6. Equipment and Real Property Management 

N/A 

7. Matching, Level of Effort, Earmarking 

N/A 

8. Period of Availability of Federal Funds 

N/A 

9. Procurement and Suspension and 

Debarment N/A 

10. Program Income 

N/A 

11. Real Property Acquisition and Relocation Assistance 

N/A 

12. Reporting 

N/A 

13. Sub-Recipient Monitoring 

NC-JOIN is a program/system and is the sub-recipient monitoring tool used to 

enter juveniles as they enter DPS Juvenile Detention Centers, Youth Development 

Centers, or any other applicable treatment program. Admissions and releases, as 

well as other vital information concerning juveniles, are entered into NC-JOIN. This 

enables those individuals authorized to use the program access to any information 

that is vital to the placement of a juvenile. 

14. Special Tests and Provisions: 

a) Verify that checks received from DPS are for actual resident days [Durham, 

Guilford, Mecklenburg Counties], or meet the terms of the Memo of Agreement 

[Madison County]. 

b) Does the amount of check received balance to the amount invoiced? 

c) Test actual data from NC-JOIN to the facility data (verify names and dates), 

and from NCALLIES to the Madison County Memo of Agreement. 

d) Verify the amount billed reconciles to the approved rate for the facility. 


